Skip to main content

AI promo codes that actually work (August 2026): all 15 we track, what they get you, and the catches

Disclosure: this article links to some providers through our referral links. If you sign up through one, we may earn credit or a commission. It never changes what we recommend — the data says what it says.

Coupon sites list hundreds of AI promo codes, and most of what they list is dead, fake, or '10% off' applied to a price that was raised 10% first. We track promo and referral codes as structured data in our provider catalog: 15 codes across 13 providers, every one marked active and re-verified in June 2026 (catalog verification 2026-08-16 carries them forward). This article does two things coupon sites don't: it tells you what each program actually gets you — including the parts the landing pages underplay — and it is honest about who owns the code. Full disclosure up front, because it matters: 13 of the 15 codes are dracon-owned referral links, which is why this article carries an affiliate disclosure and why it deliberately prints no code strings and no outbound referral links. The codes themselves live in the catalog behind the providers directory, and our provider pages list every program we participate in. What you can trust editorially is the math and the catches, not a surprise code at checkout.

How we verify a promo code without publishing the code string

Each catalog entry stores promo_codes as a structured array with a code label (e.g., STUDENT50), a reward description, the verification date, and a boolean for dracon_affiliate. Verification means: we fetched the provider's referral or promo page from source_url, confirmed the reward still appears on that page, and timestamped the entry. In June 2026 every one of these 15 was re-fetched and marked active; the August 16 catalog refresh carried the status forward because the provider pages had not changed. This page intentionally republishes no outbound code strings or referral URLs — an editorial page quietly seeding its own referral links is exactly the coupon-site behavior we complained about in the first paragraph. If you want the link for a specific provider, open its entry in the providers directory — the entry shows whether it is a dracon-owned link, what the reward is, and when it was last verified. That is the honest-absence rule applied to affiliate inventory: we describe, we don't inject.

The full list, with the fine print

ProviderWhat you getThe honest limits
PerplexitySTUDENT50: 50% off Pro for verified students and educators ($10/mo), or 75% off with the Comet browser ($4.99/mo)You must actually be a student or educator and pass verification; the Comet variant requires the Comet browser
Perplexity referrals$15 cash per successful referralThe cash goes to the referrer; your friend gets no discount — this is a referrer-only program
Alibaba Coding PlanReferral sign-ups get Alibaba Cloud credits and Coding Plan benefits; new Model Studio accounts also get 70M+ free tokensCampaign-based; the 'World First' coupon is an extra consideration, not a guaranteed amount — the 70M token grant is the reliable baseline
Hyperbolic$6 in credits for you and $6 for the person who invited youCredit, not cash; the plain signup bonus without a code is only $1, so the referral triples the starting balance
Synthetic$5 in credits for the invitee and $5 for the referrerA small credit on a small platform; treat it as a trial, not a runway
LLM GatewayReferral credits, plus $5 free to get startedPay-per-token with a 5% routing fee applies once the free credit is gone
Kilo CodeKilo Pass referral: 50% bonus credits for 2 months; the standard offer is 1 monthThe bonus applies to the Kilo Pass credit subscription ($19/$49/$199), not to BYOK usage; the second month is the differentiated value
OpenCodeOpenCode Go referral: $5 for your first monthThen $10/month; only the first month is discounted, and the referral window is short
Z.AI GLM10% off the GLM Coding Plan plus Builder benefitsA discount on a paid plan; the open GLM model in their consumer chat is already free without it
MiniMax10% off the Token Plan plus Builder benefitsSame shape as Z.AI: a subscription discount, not free tokens — valuable only if you were going to subscribe
BytePlus ModelArkCampaign rewards for joining the ModelArk coding planThe reward amount is not specified in our data; the 500K free tokens per model (and 2M for vision) are the real, specified baseline
VeniceVenice credits via referral linkThe credit amount is not specified in our data; the program exists but we carry no advertised number
Mimo$2 in API credits for both sides plus 10% off your first planCredits expire in 40 days, the shortest fuse on this list — claim when you have a project ready, not before
RunPod$5 to $500 randomized credit for both sidesRandomized mostly means $5; the kickbacks (3% on Pod spend, 5% on Serverless, first 6 months) are the real program and require sustained spend
All 15 promo and referral programs tracked in our catalog, August 2026. Every entry was marked active at its June 2026 verification and carried forward in the 2026-08-16 refresh.

Why so many of these are referral codes — and what that means for you

Look at that table and a pattern jumps out: 13 of the 15 entries are referral or invite programs rather than classic coupons. That is not our sampling bias; it is the market in 2026. AI providers have largely abandoned 'WELCOME10' in favor of referral mechanics because referral tracks attribution and because a $5 credit that requires an inviter costs the provider less than a public coupon that anyone can scrape. For you, it means two things. First, the reward is usually credit, not cash — Hyperbolic's $6, Synthetic's $5, Mimo's $2 are all platform credits, not withdrawals. Perplexity's $15 referral is the rare cash exception, and it pays the referrer, not you. Second, the 'code' is usually a link, not a string you type at checkout: the conversion is a referral click that binds the account, not a promo field. Our providers directory reflects that reality — the affiliate_program field says whether a provider even offers a code field versus a referral link, because conflating the two is how coupon sites manufacture inventory that never worked.

The ones actually worth your time, by use case

  • Best real discount if you qualify: Perplexity's STUDENT50. Half off Pro is the largest verified percentage we track, and the Comet browser variant at $4.99/mo is the cheapest paid Pro-month on this entire list — but you must pass student/educator verification, and the browser requirement for the deeper cut is real.
  • Best signup stack in raw volume: Alibaba's 70M+ free tokens for new Model Studio accounts, before any referral credit. Nothing else on the list comes close in raw token volume. The referral Coding Plan benefits are campaign-based on top of that; treat the 70M as the floor and the referral as upside.
  • Fastest free credit without a purchase: Hyperbolic ($6 both sides), Synthetic ($5 both sides), and LLM Gateway ($5 to start) all land without a card and without a plan. Hyperbolic triples its plain signup bonus via referral ($1 → $6), which makes it the most levered.
  • Best for staying subscribed: Kilo Pass referral buys a second month of 50% bonus credits (the standard referral is one month). On the $19/$49/$199 tiers that is up to $26.60/$68.60/$278.60 in credits per month for two months — the bonus math beats a single $5 credit if you were going to pay for Kilo Pass anyway.
  • Shortest fuse — use with timing: Mimo's credits expire in 40 days, and OpenCode's $5 is first-month only. Claim them when you have a project ready, not preemptively, or the allowance dies unused. The free-tier hub is a better first stop for recurring capacity; promos are one-shot bonuses on top.
  • Lottery tickets: RunPod's '$5 to $500 randomized' and BytePlus's 'campaign rewards' are unspecified in our data because the provider pages specify no guaranteed number. Treat them as upside, not as budget, and price your plan on the specified baseline instead.

Affiliate disclosure — what we own and what we don't do here

This is an affiliate article: 13 of the 15 codes are dracon-owned referral programs. We participate in referral programs to fund the catalog work itself — capturing 45 providers, re-verifying rate limits, and maintaining the free-tier hub and the plans table takes real hours each month. What we don't do here is embed the referral links inline or print code strings that turn this article into a conversion funnel. Every provider page in the providers directory carries the referral indicator and the verified date, so you can decide provider by provider whether to use our link, go direct, or use someone else's. No link on this page is an affiliate link; the only links are internal navigation to our own surfaces or to provider docs for verification. If that standard slips, we want the bug report.

Two warnings we repeat straight from the data. Every code here was verified in mid-June 2026 and carried through the August 16 catalog refresh, but promo programs die without notice — the catalog's verified_at per provider is your freshness signal, not this article's date. And none of these replace the free tiers on the free AI hub: a promo code is a one-shot bonus, while a free tier is a recurring allowance. The best stack is almost always a free tier for your daily habit plus a promo credit to de-risk your first paid month. The pricing page tracks the recurring kind, because a $5 credit that expires in 40 days is not a business model.

Sources & provenance